Sri Siddaganga College of Arts Science and Commerce for Women

B .H Road, Tumkur.

Physics Department


To build a foundation for excellence and encourage the development of the Institution as a premier Institution by igniting and promoting enthusiasm, interests and passion, in the study of physics, as a part of curriculum.

  • To awaken the young minds and discover their talents both in theory and practical Physics, through dedication to teaching, commitment to students and innovative instructional methods like LCD presentation, OHP/LCDs etc.
  • To support the developmental activities of the College and make the Department vibrant.
  • To make vital contributions in areas of emphasis such as faculty, modern labs, Department library and demonstrate a high level of competence in the study of Physics.
  • To evolve strategies in the Department for continuous Improvement
Brief History of the Department:
  • Name of the department : Department Of Physics
  • Year of Establishment : 1982
  • Names of Programmes / Courses offered (UG/PG.etc): UG- as
  • PCM (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics) PMCs (Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science) PME (Physics, Mathematics ,Electronics)

Names of Interdisciplinary courses and the departments/units involved: Some of the faculty are engaging a few classes in the Electronics Department

Annual/ semester/choice based credit system (programme wise): Semester System (CBCS)

Participation of the department in the courses offered by other departments: Nil

Courses in collaboration with other universities, industries, foreign institutions, etc. : Nil

Details of courses/programmes discontinued (if any) with reasons: Nil

Number of teaching posts

List of senior faculty visited in the department:

  1. Prof. B .A. Kaglie, Dept. of Physics Bangalore University, Bangalore
  2. Prof. S. Srinivasan, Professor Emeritus, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore.
  3. Prof .C. Samantha, Midnapur College, Calcutta.
  4. Prof .G.S.D. Babu, M. P. Birla Institute of Fundamental Research, Bangalore.
SL No   Name Qualification Designation Specialization No. of Years of Experience
1. Dr B.MARAPPA M.Sc .M.Phil Ph.D Assistant Professor SOLID STATE Physics 25 Years
2. Smt: AHALYA .G M.Sc. Full Time Lecturer (College Sponsored) Condensed Matter Physics 28 years
3. Sri. ARUN KUMAR M.Sc. Part Time Lecturer (College Sponsored Condensed Matter physics 6 years
4. Mrs. Ramya H N
M.Sc, B.Ed Part Time Lecturer (College Sponsored Condensed Matter physics 6 years

Department Contact Info

Dr.MARAPPA B, M.Sc, M.Phil, Ph.D
Assistance Professor & Head

Departmentof Computer Science

SSCW Tumkur

Mon – Sat 9:00A.M. – 5:00P.M.

Social Info